All posts by seawitch2

About seawitch2

Enjoying retirement in New Smyrna Beach

ND Shuffleboard Tournament Change

I must apologize for this continued mix up in our schedule. It is necessary that all Club Correspondence representatives make sure that the ND President has your correct email address. This will be the last change in our 2023-2024 schedule. We did not have the correct email for Clermont and therefore the schedule was changed without their knowledge. The ND17 Jan 22, 2024, Any Amateur Draw Tournament will be played in Clermont. Thanks for your attention to this notice.

ND 2023-2024 Final Tournament Schedule


Doris Hanke

ISA Hall of Fame inductees 2023

Sent in by Myrna Bilton
ISA President-

On behalf of the International Shuffleboard Association, it gives me great pleasure to announce that six people will be inducted into the ISA Hall of Fame in the “Special Award” category. They are most deserving of this prestigious award.

The induction will take place at the 40th World Championship in October at St Petersburg, Florida.

Peter Davis. UK
Hallvard Flatland. Norway
Doris Hanke. USA
Norman Lindsay. Canada
Christine Page. USA
Paulo Pavão. Brazil

Singles Mingles at Leesburg

Just a reminder from Carol Helfer.

Hi shuffler friends,

Just a reminder that Leesburg is having its first spring/summer monthly singles mingles this Wednesday.  Play begins at 8:30 for five games and 12 frames format.  Cost is $5.00 and a donation for the Leesburg food bank. We will have a 50/50 if you want to try your luck.  Please let your members know that we welcome them.  All entry money goes into prizes and depending on the turnout there will be prizes for pro and for amateur divisions.  Hope to see you on Wednesday.

Carol Helfer – secretary

ND Masters Tournament 3/23/2023

The Leesburg Shuffleboard Club hosted the 2023 Masters Tournament. Rod Lewis was the Director and Gail Howell and Carol Helfer did a great job organizing the tournament and setting up all the food and entertainment for the Masters Banquet which followed the tournament. Stan Williamson was the MC for the night’s entertainment. There were trophy presentations, pin presentations and entertainment by Rick Enright as Elvis, Jim Faust playing his banjo and Zak Wonson and Joe Inga as Abbot and Costello. They presented George Snyder with an Iron Man Award for successfully playing in all Northern District Tournaments this season. Stan had some really big red underwear? Tom Brown and Gloria Boring were presented with the Frank Wilson Special Award for Amateur Winners of the TOC.

Ray Parlberg was well on his way to Hall of Fame when his wife became ill. He is now 89 years old and has done so much to promote the ND Shuffleboard that he was given an honorary entry into the Hall of Fame and presented with the traditional Red Jacket. Congratulations to all the shufflers, have a really great and safe summer.

1.   George Snyder                                              Clermont
2.   Rex Galusha                                                  Coronado/Mainland
3.   John Giumarra                                              Deland
3.   Zak Wonson                                                  Coronado/Mainland
5.   Stan Williamson                                            Coronado/Mainland
6.   Vern Ivey                                                       Leesburg
6.   Joe Inga                                                          Deland
8.   Dave Dean                                                     Leesburg

1.   Doris Hanke                                                  Hawthorne
2.   Sharon Upson                                                Hawthorne
3.   Gail Howell                                                    Leesburg
4.   Carol Helfer                                                   Leesburg
5.   Cindy Wonson                                              Coronado/Mainland
5.   Chris Inga                                                      Deland
7.   Debbie Evans                                                Coronado/Mainland
8.   Christine Giumarra                                       Deland

1.   Bob Augusto                                                  Coronado/Mainland
2.   Tom Brown                                                    Leesburg
3.   Mark Gephart                                                Coronado/Mainland
4.   Tom Grubb                                                    Coronado/Mainland
5.   Brad Simons                                                  Deland
6.   Doug Peuler                                                   Holiday RV Village
7.   Steve Clark                                                    Mid-Florida Lakes
8.   Steve Smith                                                    Hawthorne

1.   Suzanne DeRocchi
2.   Gloria Boring                                                 Holiday RV Village
3.   Janet Shira                                                      Coronado/Mainland
3.   Sheila Taylor                                                 Clermont
3.   Phyllis Sokol-Wood                                     Leesburg
6.   Karen Basner                                                 Holiday RV Village
6.   Diana Vincent                                                Mid-Florida Lakes
8.   Debi Clark                                                      Leesburg